Colm and Dom have been working with Choose My Music Records to develop a press campaign for the forthcoming The State Of Music Volume 4 CD that will be released on Thursday, August 30, 2012.

While Dom brought the job to the group, it was Colm who took to the task the quickest, doing plenty of research and digging up as much info as possible on the innovative venture to craft a short and (hopefully) compelling press release. He says: “The concept of Choose My Music Records is both an interesting and appealing one which we’re highly honoured to represent and promote. Through exploring what the project is about, we’ve discovered how much passion and belief its creator has for The State Of Music and how that same passion has somehow spread to key figures in the music industry.”

He continues, “We like the notion that bands and artists who have featured on earlier albums in the series were invited to perform at this year’s South By South West; if this isn’t a ringing endorsement for the project, we don’t really know what is! From listening to a selection of the tracks on this upcoming volume, they definitely fit the ethos of individual, independent music from modern underground American artists – another reason we reckon this is something worth championing.”

The fourth collection of choice tracks from unsigned American artists – The State Of Music Volume 4 – is set for an August release on the Choose My Music Records label.

A concept created and curated by the website, The State Of Music Volume 4 is the penultimate showcase of individual, independent artists or bands representing each of the 50 states of the Union. The first three albums were released in January, March and June 2012 respectively, with the physical format version of each of the first two volumes selling out.

So far, support for The State Of Music project has seen the profile of its featured artists expand. A special Choose My Music live showcase at the 2012 SXSW festival in America saw 26 acts, representing 22 states, perform in the space of 12 hours. Tracks from earlier volumes have also been aired on BBC 6 Music by Cerys Matthews, and Q Radio by Caroline Beavon.

As with the three previous editions, all profits from the sale of the compilation will be donated to Camden Calling, a London-based community group who work with musicians, artists and other creative individuals who are, or have previously been homeless.

“The first three albums have been so well received,” says The State Of Music creator and Choose My Music founder, Dominik Paczko“The bands featured have found new fans and it has raised some much needed money for Camden Calling. I just hope it it continues throughout the release of Volume 4 and beyond.”

The State Of Music Volume 4′ Tracklisting

1. Poison Control Centre (Iowa) ‘Seagull’
2. Great Deceivers (Florida) ‘Silver Thumbs’
3. Old Earz (Idaho) ‘Lotta Nerve’
4. Family Wagon (California) ‘Hard Times’
5. Shane Maland (North Dakota) ‘Steam Engine’
6. Kinisi (Georgia) ‘Beach Frogs’
7. YOMAHA (Alaska) ‘Bob Dylan in the 80s’
8. Flashbulb Fires (Colorado) ‘Dark Ghost (I’ve Got Hands)’
9. Dessa (Minnesota) ‘551’
10. New Sweden (Delaware) ‘View from the Mountain’

For more information click the link above.

Watch the video for Hard Times by Family Wagon

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *